2018 2nd International Conference on Data Mining, Communications and Information Technology (DMCIT 2018)

Prof. Arbee L.P. Chen
Chair Professor of Computer Science and Information Engineering at Asia University, Taiwan


Title of speech: Opportunities and Challenges on Big Data Future Innovations: Experiences on Marketing, Healthcare and Election Applications


Arbee L.P. Chen received a Ph.D. degree in computer engineering from the University of Southern California, USA, and is currently Chair Professor of Computer Science and Information Engineering at Asia University, Taiwan. He also holds joint faculty positions at National Tsing Hua University and Academia Sinica, Taiwan. Dr. Chen was a Professor of the Department of Computer Science, National Tsing Hua University; a Member of Technical Staff at Bell Communications Research, USA; and a Research Scientist at Unisys, USA.

   Dr. Chen organized IEEE Data Engineering Conference in Taiwan, and continuously serves in various capacities for international conferences and journals. He was invited to deliver a speech in the NSF-sponsored Inaugural International Symposium on Music Information Retrieval and the IEEE Shannon Lecture Series, USA, and the Institute for Advanced Study of Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong.

   Dr. Chen’s current research interests include big data analytics, top-k queries, and multimedia information retrieval. He has published more than 250 papers in renowned international journals and conference proceedings, and was a visiting scholar at Tsinghua University, China, Kyoto University, Japan, King’s College London, UK, Stanford University, Boston University, Harvard University, USA, and Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong






Prof. Anders Lindquist
Foreign Academician CAS, Zhiyuan Chair Professor, Thousand-Talents Scholar
Department of Automation and School of Mathematics, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China



Anders Lindquist is a foreign Academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and a Zhiyuan Chair Professor at Shanghai Jiao Tong University. He is also an Emeritus Professor at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm, Sweden. He started his career in the United States, where he had a full academic career from Assistant to Full Professor. After this he was appointed to the Chair of Optimization and Systems Theory at KTH, where he also served as the Director of the Center for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. For ten years he was also the Head of the Mathematics Department there. Lindquist is a Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, a foreign Member of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, an Honorary Member the Hungarian Operations Research Society, a Life Fellow of IEEE, a Fellow of SIAM, and a Fellow of IFAC.  He is an honorary doctor at the Technion, Israel, and the recipient of the 2009 Reid Prize in Mathematics from SIAM and of the 2003 Axelby Outstanding Paper Award from the IEEE Control System Society.






Prof. David Zhang 
Hong Kong Polytechnic University, HK



Prof. David Zhang (Shenzhen Pengcheng scholar, Fellow of IEEE, Fellow of IAPR) graduated in Computer Science from Peking University. He received his MSc in Computer Science in 1982 and his PhD in 1985 from the Harbin Institute of Technology (HIT). From 1986 to 1988 he was a Postdoctoral Fellow at Tsinghua University and then an Associate Professor at the Academia Sinica, Beijing. In 1994 he received his second PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. Currently, he is Chair Professor at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University where he is the Founding Director of the Biometrics Technology Centre (UGC/CRC) supported by the Hong Kong SAR Government in 1998. He also serves as Visiting Chair Professor in Tsinghua University, and Adjunct Professor in Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Peking University, Harbin Institute of Technology, and the University of Waterloo. Prof. Zhang is the Chairman of the Technical Committee in IEEE SMC and the Distinguished Speaker in IEEE CS, as well as received the highest science and technology awards - Croucher Senior research Fellowship (2004-2005).






Prof. Norman C. Beaulieu

Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China


Can 153 Years of Sustained Discovery and Innovation in Wireless Communications

Be Continued Beyond 5G


Norman C. Beaulieu is an Academician of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC), and an Academician of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE). He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) of the United Kingdom, a Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC), and a Nicola Copernicus Fellow of Italy. He is the recipient of the esteemed Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) of Canada E.W.R. Steacy Memorial Fellowship. He is the only person in the world to hold both the IEEE Edwin Howard Armstrong Award and the IEEE Reginald Aubrey Fessenden Award, named for the inventors of Frequency Modulation or FM, and, and Amplitude Modulation or AM, respectively. Prof. Beaulieu is a Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications BUPT Thousand-Talents Scholar. He holds the third highest Web of Science ISI h-index in the world in the combined areas of communication theory and information theory. Prof. Beaulieu was awarded the title “State Especially Recruited Foreign Expert” certified upon him by the Minister of Human Resources and Social Insurance, and Vice Minister of the Organization Department, Yi Weimin. Prof. Beaulieu is the recipient of the Royal Society of Canada Thomas W. Eadie Medal, the Médaille K.Y. Lo Medal of the EIC, and was the subject of a TIME Magazine feature article. He was also awarded the Special University Prize in Applied Science of the University of British Columbia, and the J. Gordin Kaplan Award for Research of the University of Alberta.




2017 Keynote Speakers

Prof.Yiu Ming Cheung

Hong Kong Baptist University, HK

Prof. Kenji Yamanishi

University of Tokyo, Japan

Prof. Arbee L.P. Chen

Asia University, Taiwan